Spicy Hawaiian Pulled Pork

This weekend, I attempted to make this tasty-sounding recipe. The original attempt did not go so well. After talking with my Grandmama and Mom, their suggestions ultimately fixed my issues. 

  
The recipe I used is from the Not So Desperate Housewife website. I used about 4.5 lbs of pork loin instead of what was recommended (I think this was the culprit), and I only added two jalapeños. After cooking this concoction on low for 6.5 hours, the meat was not soft enough to pull apart. It was fully cooked, so I thought maybe that was the best it was going to get. It was spiiiiiiiiiiiicy. Like, holy cow spicy. It wasn’t the best lunch, but I could deal with it for a week. 

My Grandmama and Mom suggested, however, to cook it in the oven for 1.5 hours. I added another can of crushed pineapple with the juice, sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top, and wrapped it up in foil. Fast forward 1.5 hours, and it was perfect! The super spicy taste had been toned down a bit, and the pork pulled apart very easily. It’s low in fat, carbs, and sodium and is high in protein and potassium. 

Overall, I’m glad I messed up the recipe the first time – otherwise I’d be sweating while eating my lunch! 

I’d definitely recommend this recipe… But add another can of crushed pineapples and some brown sugar. I know the brown sugar isn’t exactly Primal, but about a pinch of it wont be too bad for you. It’ll be worth it – just ask all of my coworkers who tried it at lunch (Mom and Grandmama liked it too)! 🙂
Nutrition Information

I split this up into 6 servings, but it could have easily made 8 servings. The below nutrition information is for 6 servings:

  

Leave a Reply

